Product Classifications

Countries classify e-cigarettes as tobacco products (or imitation/derivative/substitute products), medicinal/pharmaceutical products, consumer products, electronic nicotine delivery systems (ENDS)/e-cigarettes or poisons.

Twenty-four countries/jurisdictions classify or regulate e-cigarettes as consumer products, devices, or combination products

Australia, BangladeshCanada, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, IcelandIreland, MalaysiaMoldova, Mongolia, Northern Ireland, PakistanRepublic of Korea, Scotland, SudanSwitzerlandUnited States, VanuatuVenezuela, Wales, Yemen

Twenty-four countries/jurisdictions regulate e-cigarettes as medicines/drugs/medical devices

AustraliaAustria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Iceland, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, Northern Ireland, Norway, Philippines, Scotland, South Africa, Sweden, Thailand, United StatesVenezuela, and Wales

Sixty-two countries/jurisdictions classify or regulate e-cigarettes (in their entirety or only certain dimensions of sale, advertisement, use, etc.) as tobacco products, tobacco related products, tobacco imitation, tobacco derivatives, or tobacco surrogates

AlbaniaArgentina, Austria, Azerbaijan, BahrainBrunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, ColombiaCosta Rica, Croatia, Ecuador, England, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, GreenlandGuamHonduras, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, MontenegroNepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, NiueNorthern Ireland, Norway, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, Scotland, Senegal, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, SpainSweden, TajikistanTogo, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United States, UzbekistanVenezuelaViet Nam, and Wales

Two countries regulate nicotine as poisons or hazardous substances

Malaysia and Brunei Darussalam classifies nicotine liquid as poisons based on the nicotine concentration.