专家

A - M | N - Z

Ana Navas-Acien 博士、医学博士、公共卫生硕士
约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院
Ana Navas-Acien 目前在约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院的环境卫生科学系工作。 Navas-Acien 博士对长期、广泛接触环境毒素这一课题特别感兴趣。 她的研究领域为与二手烟相关的烟草控制。 旨在宣传政策,减少被动接触此类环境毒素。 在公共场所接触二手烟研究方面,她已发表了多篇论著,目前,她正在开展一个研究项目,详细剖析在酒吧和夜总会接触二手烟的问题。

公共场所中的二手烟

Marty Otañez
科罗拉多大学丹佛分校
Marty Otañez是科罗拉多大学丹佛分校人类学系政治生态学助理教授。在此任之前,他在加州大学旧金山分校烟草控制与教育中心做美国癌症协会博士后研究员。他的文化人类学的论文(加州大学欧文分校)分析了烟草农场工人与美国烟草公司在马拉维的有害商业做法之间的关系。他针对马拉维和全球烟草公司发表了多篇经同行审阅的文章和著作章节,包括:《全球烟叶公司控制马拉维的烟草市场》,发表于2007年的《烟草控制》杂志(Stanton Glantz和Hadii Mamudu为共同作者)。他制作了针对马拉维童工和只种烟草单一作物的纪录片《免费劳工》(Thangata)(2002年)和烟草公司对马拉维烟草业控制的纪录片《随烟而逝》(Up in Smoke)(2003年),结论是为烟草公司种植烟草获得财富的许诺是空梦一场。

烟草种植

John Rafferty
英国爱丁堡市议会
John Rafferty 现为爱丁堡市议会的吸烟健康执法官员。 Mr Rafferty 负责禁烟法律在爱丁堡市内的实施工作,该法律于 2005 年获苏格兰行政院通过。 他战斗在执法前沿已逾 30 年,直接与公司和公众打交道。 《2005 年吸烟、健康与社会保健(苏格兰)法案》于 2006 年 3 月开始生效时,Rafferty 先生在制定爱丁堡执法政策方面,发挥了重要作用。 这包括与他人合作编写宣讲材料,并向多数受禁烟影响的企业进行宣讲。 苏格兰开创先河之后,英国其他城市也纷纷出台类似法律,而此时,爱丁堡的执法政策已成为其他地方部门争相仿效的榜样。 事实上,Rafferty 先生的经验已推广到 50 多个地方部门,包括伦敦的 12 个区、贝尔法斯特和谢菲尔德。 自推行禁烟令以来,爱丁堡的守法水平一直极高——99%,远远高于苏格兰 97.6% 的平均水平。

英格兰的吸烟、健康和社会关怀

K. Srinath Reddy 医学博士
印度公共卫生基金会
Reddy 博士是印度公共卫生基金会的主席,最近才出任全印医学科学院心脏病系主任。 他曾多次出任 WHO 专家组成员,十年来一直在《印度国家医学杂志》任编辑。 Reddy 博士曾荣膺多项极具声望的奖项,包括WHO 总干事颁发的 2003 年“全球烟草控制领导”奖。

在发展中国家或地区实施 FCTC

Bungon Ritthiphakdee
东南亚烟草控制联盟 (SEATCA)
泰国吸烟与健康行动组织 (ASH)

Ritthiphakdee 女士是东南亚烟草控制联盟 (SEATCA) 的主任,这是首个、也是唯一包括东盟国家或地区的区域烟草控制网络。 她拥有非凡的才能,不仅与其他部门建立了良好的关系,而且把表面似乎毫无关联的群体紧密团结在一起,使泰国和其他东南亚国家或地区把烟草控制放到国家议程的突出位置,因此,她在当地、国内和国际上都享有很高的声誉。 1987 年到 2000 年间,她曾任泰国吸烟与健康行动组织 (ASH) 的主任。 1987 年,她在全国范围内协调组织了一次签名运动,促成了几项政策改变,促使烟草控制列入泰国的国家议程。 20 世纪 90 年代之前,她就发起成立了民间团体,帮助实施国会的烟草控制法律。 由于其在烟草控制领域的杰出领导才干,她荣获了 2006 年 Luther L. Terry 奖。

税收与健康齐头并进

Hana Ross 博士
美国癌症协会和国际烟草循证网络 (ITEN)
Hana Ross博士毕业于布拉格经济学院,获学士和硕士学位。2000年毕业于伊利诺伊大学芝加哥分校,获卫生经济学博士学位。Ross博士之前曾任美国癌症协会国际烟草控制研究项目战略总监。之前,她担任国际烟草证据网络副主任,以及伊利诺伊大学芝加哥分校公共卫生学院卫生研究与政策中心高级研究人员。她还曾担任世界银行顾问,在此期间为全球青少年烟草调查做经济分析。她的研究兴趣领域包括药物滥用行为,尤其关注吸烟和国际烟草控制。在全球烟草控制和青少年吸烟行为方面,她已发表多篇论文。

吸烟的成本

Gary Saffitz
全球卫生与营销顾问
Gary Saffitz现在是顾问,特别侧重为实现全球改变和公共卫生的营销。他曾在约翰霍普金斯大学传播项目中心任副主任,在彭博公共卫生学院任高级副教员。目前,他向传播项目中心在非洲、亚洲、近东地区、拉丁美洲和东欧/欧亚地区的项目提供技术指导,并领导该中心的烟草控制项目。在过去为传播项目中心工作的22年中,他在20多个不同国家,与政府、非政府组织和私营部门协作,在制定全国策略和实施各种创新行为改变项目中,起到重要作用。在加入传播项目中心之前,他曾任Prospect Associates公司传播部和国际项目主任、Saffitz, Alpert & Associates公司总裁,以及Porter Novelli公司副总裁/客户部负责人,1979年在Porter Novelli公司时,他开始与美国全国卫生研究院、全国癌症研究院、全国心脏、肺部和血液研究院,以及美国疾病预防控制中心一起,开展美国的烟草控制项目。

策略沟通介绍 | 策略沟通计划进程介绍

Jonathan Samet 医学博士、理科硕士
南加州大学Keck医学院
Samet医生是肺部内科医生、流行病学专家,现为南加州大学Keck医学院预防医学系教授、Flora L. Thornton教席系主任、南加州大学全球卫生研究院主任。他此前担任约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院流行病系主任、全球烟草控制研究所主任。他的研究关注在一般环境和工作场所吸入污染物的影响。Samet医生接受过作为内科医学和肺部疾病的培训。从1978到1994年,他在新墨西哥州大学医学院工作,担任教授、肺部和病危护理部主任。在吸烟和被动吸烟的健康影响方面,他著述颇丰,并担任美国《卫生总长吸烟与健康报告》的顾问编辑和高级科学编辑。他2004年荣获Prince Mahidol公共卫生奖,1999、2006年获卫生总长勋章

烟草盛行  |  主动吸烟对健康的影响  |  被动吸烟对健康的影响

Frances Stillman 教育博士
约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院
Frances Stillman 博士 1970 年获天普大学教育硕士学位,1986 年获约翰霍普金斯大学教育博士学位。目前是约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院流行病学系副教授和研究教授,并兼任全球烟草控制研究所的副所长。 她的研究重点是设计、实施和评估烟草控制政策。 Stillman 博士积极 推动约翰霍普金斯研究院无烟政策的制定工作,并设计与实施了几项其他计划,以促进戒烟,限制烟草制品的消费。 Stillman 博士参与了多个计划,推进烟草控制议程,减少烟草消费在全球的蔓延。 她已发表多篇针对烟草控制政策和计划评估方面的论著。

评估计划介绍  |  烟草控制计划 ASSIST

Stephen Tamplin 硕士
约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院
Tamplin 先生现在是约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院流行病学系的副研究员,他在该学院的全球烟草控制研究所工作,目前主要从事中国、印度和越南的烟草控制项目工作。 Tamplin 先生的工作经历包括:长期供职于世界卫生组织(在西太平洋地区工作 18 年,1984 至 1987 年间,曾任韩国空气污染控制技术顾问;1988 至 2002 年间,曾任地区环境卫生顾问;1998 至 2002 年间,从事地区烟草控制重点工作)、伊利诺伊州环保局(从事空气污染控制工作 12 年)和西弗吉尼亚空气污染控制委员会(4 年)。他在美国和亚太地区的公共卫生和环保方面拥有丰富的经验,涵盖了各种技术规范,包括烟草控制、空气和水污染控制、化学品安全和危险废物管理和健康促进。

烟草与贫穷

Gemma Vestal 法学博士、公共卫生硕士、工商管理硕士、护理学学士
世界卫生组织无烟草倡议
Gemma Vestal 是世界卫生组织 (WHO) 无烟草倡议 (TFI) 的法务专员和科学家,获马里兰大学法学院法学博士学位。 Vestal 女士还拥有约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院公共卫生硕士学位、巴尔的摩大学工商管理硕士学位和索诺马州大学护理学学士学位。 除 TFI 的工作外,她还担任其他职务,她在 TFI 的工作重点是动员各级机构,主导全球烟草制品管制方面的政策,从而促进在 WHO 烟草控制框架公约下实施烟草制品管制。 她同时还是 TFI 的联络员,为 WHO FCTC 大会秘书处提供日常技术支持。

WHO FCTC:文本、承诺和时间表

Hugh Waters 博士
约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院
Hugh Waters 博士 1987 年获乔治敦大学硕士学位,1999 年获约翰霍普金斯大学博士学位。他现在是约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院国际卫生系副教授,并兼任比较卫生系统公共卫生硕士组的副主任。 他的重点研究领域是医疗融资、医疗覆盖率和获得医疗。 Waters 目前从事多项工作,其中包括:扩大厄瓜多尔、阿富汗等低收入国家或地区的医疗覆盖面,加强这些地区的医疗融资,分析医疗改革方案,进行案例研究以扩大中低收入国家或地区的保险覆盖率等等。 在烟草控制领域,Waters 博士是美国癌症协会开展的一项研究的主任研究员,该项目分析计算马里兰州的二手烟成本。Waters 博士发表过多篇卫生经济学领域的论文。

烟草控制与经济学因素:基本原理与概述

Anna White
Share The World’s Resources组织
Anna White现为Share The World’s Resources组织的政策分析员。之前她是Essential Action组织烟草控制全球伙伴关系的协调员,该项目通过在美国等发达国家的团体与非洲、亚洲和拉丁美洲发展中国家的团体建立伙伴关系,推动全球的烟草控制。她曾在塞内加尔作为富布赖特学者广泛研究烟草业营销策略的性质,针对烟草业在第三世界的广告策略提供全面的信息。她推动国际反对吸烟的倡导宣传,监测烟草业在全世界的活动

烟草广告禁令

Heather Wipfli 博士、理科硕士
南加州大学Keck医学院
Heather Wipfli博士是南加州大学Keck医学院预防医学系助理教授,南加州大学全球卫生研究院副主任。她之前在约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院流行病系任研究员,以及全球烟草控制研究院项目主任。她关注旨在改善全球健康的治理和政策实施。Wipfli博士把这一宽泛的兴趣应用于全球烟草控制领域,尤其侧重发展中国家为遏制烟草使用流行的培训和政策改进。作为技术官员,她与世界卫生组织无烟草行动在《烟草控制框架公约》的设计方面密切工作。Wilfli博士现在正从事针对烟草控制政策的几个研究项目。

《烟草控制框架公约》

Ayda Yurekli, 博士
国际烟草控制研究
Yurekli 博士是世界卫生组织无烟草倡议的高级经济师,同时兼任加拿大国际发展研究机构国际烟草控制研究 (RITC) 计划的项目负责人。 她一直致力于宣传、推广有关实施烟草控制政策对全球经济影响的信息,在这一领域颇具影响力,是公认的烟草经济学专家。 Yurekli 博士发表过大量烟草控制经济学方面的论著。

烟草非法贸易

Mitch Zeller 法学博士
Pinney Associates 公司
Mitch Zeller是 Pinney Associates 公司政策与策略交流部副总裁,这是一家设于马里兰的健康咨询公司。 2000 至 2002 年间,Zeller 先生曾任美国遗产基金会的执行副总裁,这是一家设于华盛顿特区的公共卫生基金会,1998 年因烟草行业的总和解协议而创办。他的职责包括营销、交流和建立与维护战略合作合伙关系。 2002 年 1 月,Zeller 先生创立了该基金会的首家政策与政府关系办公室。 1993 年至 2000 年,Zeller 先生在美国食品与药物管理局 (FDA) 的烟草计划办公室任副专员兼主任,在此期间,他创立了首个以减少青少年接触烟草为宗旨的全国性计划。 他曾任 FDA 的烟草问题代表,与国会以及联邦和各州级机构、公共卫生团体、外国政府进行交涉。 Zeller 先生还担任过驻世界卫生组织 (WHO)《烟草控制框架公约》工作组的美国官方代表。

烟草制品

The Experts N-Z

A - M | N - Z

Ana Navas-Acien, PhD, MD, MPH
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Ana Navas-Acien is currently on faculty at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health in the Department of Environmental Health Sciences. Dr. Navas-Acien has a special interest in long-term, widespread exposures to environmental toxins. Her research in the field of tobacco control pertains to secondhand smoke. It is conducted with the hope of advancing policy and reducing involuntary exposure to such environmental toxins. She has published extensively in the field of secondhand exposure in public places and is currently working on a research project which details exposure in bars and nightclubs.

Secondhand Tobacco Smoke in Public Places

Marty Otañez
University of Colorado, Denver
Marty Otañez is an Assistant Professor of Political Ecology in the Anthropology Department of the University of Colorado, Denver. Previous to this position he was an American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Researcher in the Center for Tobacco Control Research and Education at the University of California, San Francisco. His dissertation in cultural anthropology (UC Irvine, 2004) analyzed the connections between tobacco farm workers and harmful business practices of U.S. tobacco companies in Malawi. He published several peer-reviewed articles and book chapters on Malawi and global tobacco companies, including “Global Leaf Companies Control the Tobacco Market in Malawi,” Tobacco Control in 2007 (co-authored with Stanton Glantz and Hadii Mamudu). He produced the documentary film Thangata (2002) on child labor and tobacco mono-cropping in Malawi, and Up in Smoke (2003) on tobacco companies’ control over Malawi’s tobacco sector, concluding that the wealth promised from growing tobacco for tobacco companies is an illusion.  He operates the blog www.sidewalkradio.net.

Tobacco Farming

Dr.Vinayak M. Prasad
Tobacco Free Initiative (WHO)
Dr. Vinayak M. Prasad worked in India as a Director (Public Health) with a focus on tobacco control for the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. He also worked in the Ministry of Finance's Department of Revenue where he became an expert in trade, taxes and smuggling. In 2006 he was invited to help WHO develop a template protocol on illicit trade in tobacco products. He also advised the Secretariat of the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control on intergovernmental negotiations. In 2009 Dr. Prasad joined WHO’s Tobacco Free Initiative as Senior Adviser where he guides a Gates Foundation-funded project for building capacity for tobacco control in Africa. He also builds partnerships and strategies for tobacco control related to tuberculosis and maternal/child health. He holds a Master's in Business Administration with a specialization in public service from the University of Birmingham and a Bachelor's in Medicine from Maulana Azad Medical College, University of Delhi, India

Illicit Trade in Tobacco Products: Case Study

John Rafferty
The City of Edinburgh Council, United Kingdom
John Rafferty is currently employed by the City of Edinburgh Council as a Smoking Health Enforcement Officer. Mr Rafferty is responsible for enforcing the Smokefree legislation, which was passed by the Scottish Executive in 2005, within the city of Edinburgh. He has been involved in frontline enforcement for more than 30 years, dealing directly with businesses and the public. When the Smoking, Health and Social Care (Scotland) Act 2005 came into force in March 2006, Mr Rafferty played an integral role in developing the enforcement policy for Edinburgh. This included co-writing and delivering presentations to most of the businesses affected by the smoking ban. When other parts of the United Kingdom introduced similar legislation following Scotland’s lead, Edinburgh’s enforcement policy was widely recognised as a good working model for other local authorities to adopt. In fact, Mr Rafferty has shared his expertise with more than 50 local authorities - including 12 London Boroughs, Belfast, and Sheffield. Since the introduction of the smoking ban, compliance levels in Edinburgh have remained extremely high – at 99%, this outstrips the Scottish average of 97.6% .

Smoking, Health, and Social Care in Scotland

K. Srinath Reddy, MD
Public Health Foundation of India
Dr. Reddy is President of the Public Health Foundation of India and until recently headed the Department of Cardiology at All India Institute of Medical Sciences. He has served on many WHO expert panels, and has edited the National Medical Journal of India for ten years. Dr. Reddy has won several prestigious awards including the WHO Director-General’s Award for Global Leadership in Tobacco Control in 2003.

Implementing the FCTC in Developing Countries

Bungon Ritthiphakdee
Southeast Asian Tobacco Control Alliance (SEATCA)
Action on Smoking and Health (ASH) Thailand

Ms. Ritthiphakdee is the director of the Southeast Asian Tobacco Control Alliance (SEATCA), the first and only regional tobacco control network encompassing countries belong to the ASEAN. She has built a local, national, and international reputation for her ability to build relationships with others and bring together seemingly disparate groups of people to make tobacco control a prominent place on the national agendas of Thailand and other South East Asian countries. From 1987 to 2000, she worked as director of Action on Smoking and Health (ASH) Thailand. In 1987 she helped make tobacco control a national agenda in Thailand by coordinating a nationwide signature campaign that led to several policy change. By the 1990s, she had mobilized civil society that help secured parliamentary tobacco control laws. She is one of the winners of the Luther L. Terry Awards in 2006 for outstanding individual leadership in tobacco control.

Tax and Health Promotion

Hana Ross, PhD
American Cancer Society and ITEN
Dr. Hana Ross received both her BA and MA from the Prague School of Economics. She went on to earn her PhD in Health Economics from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 2000. Dr. Ross is Strategic Director of International Tobacco Control Research Program at the American Cancer Society. She formerly served as the deputy director of the International Tobacco Evidence Network and as a senior research specialist at the Health Research and Policy Centers, School of Public Health, University of Illinois, Chicago. She has also worked as a consultant to the World Bank, during which time she provided economic analysis for the Global Youth Tobacco Survey. Her areas of interest include substance abuse behaviors with a special interest in smoking and international tobacco control. She has published many papers in the field of global tobacco control and youth smoking behavior.

The Costs of Smoking

Gary Saffitz
Consultant for Global Health and Marketing
Gary Saffitz is currently a consultant with a specific focus on marketing for global change and public health. He is the former Deputy Director at the Center for Communication Programs (CCP) and Senior Associate Faculty at the Bloomberg School of Public Health. In this capacity, he provided technical oversight to CCP programs in Africa, Asia, Near East, Latin America, and Eastern Europe/Eurasia, and led the Center’s program in tobacco control. Over his past 22 year association with CCP, he has played a major role in developing national strategies and implementing a wide range of innovative behavior change programs in collaboration with Governments, NGOs and the private sector in over 20 different countries. Prior to joining CCP, he was Director of the Communication Group and International Programs for Prospect Associates, President of Saffitz, Alpert & Associates, and Vice President/Account Group Head at Porter Novelli, where in 1979, he first began working in US based tobacco control programs with the National Institutes of Health, National Cancer Institute, National Heart, Lung, & Blood Institute, and Centers for Disease Control.

Introduction to Strategic Communication | Introduction to the Strategic Communication Planning Process

Jonathan Samet, MD, MS
Keck School of Medicine at USC
Dr. Samet, a pulmonary physician and epidemiologist, is currently Professor and Flora L. Thornton Chair for the Department of Preventive Medicine at the Keck School of Medicine at USC and Director, USC Institute for Global Health. He was the former chair of the Department of Epidemiology at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and director of the Institute for Global Tobacco Control. His research has addressed the effects of inhaled pollutants in the general environment and in the workplace. Dr. Samet is trained as a clinician in the specialty of internal medicine and in the subspecialty of pulmonary diseases. From 1978 through 1994, he was a member of the Department of Medicine at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine where he was professor and chief of the Pulmonary and Critical Care Division. He has written widely on the health effects of active and passive smoking and served as consultant editor and senior scientific editor for Reports of the Surgeon General on Smoking and Health. He is the recipient of the 2004 Prince Mahidol Award for public health and the Surgeon General's medal in 1999 and 2006.

The Tobacco Epidemic  |  Health Effects of Active Smoking  |  Health Effects of Passive Smoking

Frances Stillman, EdD
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Dr. Frances Stillman received a EdM from Temple University in 1970 and an EdD from Johns Hopkins University in 1986. She currently serves as both an associate and research professor in the Department of Epidemiology at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and as the co-director of the Institute for Global Tobacco Control. She is primarily interested in the design, implementation and evaluation of tobacco control policies. Dr. Stillman was instrumental in the establishment of smoke-free policies at Johns Hopkins Institutions and has designed and implemented several other programs to facilitate cessation of tobacco product consumption. Dr. Stillman is involved in many projects to advance the tobacco control agenda and to reduce the prevalence of tobacco consumption worldwide. Her work on tobacco control policy and program evaluation has been published extensively.

Introduction to Evaluation Programs  |  Evaluation of Tobacco Control Programs: ASSIST

Stephen Tamplin, MS
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Mr. Tamplin is an Associate Scientist in the Department of Health, Behavior and Society of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.  He is working with the School’s Institute for Global Tobacco Control and currently focuses on tobacco control projects in China, India and Vietnam. Mr. Tamplin’s professional career has included long-term employment with the World Health Organization (18 years in the Western Pacific Region where he served as a Technical Adviser on Air Pollution Control to the Republic of Korea from 1984 to 1987; Regional Adviser in Environmental Health from 1988-2002; and, the Regional Focal Point for Tobacco Control from 1998-2002), the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (12 years working in air pollution control) and the West Virginia Air Pollution Control Commission (4 years).  He has broad-based public health and environment experience in the United States and in Asia and the Pacific covering a range of technical disciplines, including tobacco control, air and water pollution control, chemical safety and hazardous waste management, and health promotion.

Tobacco and Poverty

Gemma Vestal, JD, MPH, MBA, BSN
Tobacco Free Initiative, World Health Organization
Gemma Vestal, Legal Officer and Scientist for the Tobacco Free Initiative (TFI) at the World Health Organization (WHO) received her Juris Doctor from the University of  Maryland School of Law. Ms. Vestal also has an MPH from the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health, an MBA from the University of Baltimore, and a BS in Nursing from Sonoma State University. Among her other roles, her work in TFI focuses on providing global policy leadership in the area of tobacco product regulation by encouraging mobilization at all levels to promote the implementation of the product regulation provisions of the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control. She is also the TFI liaison person for the day to day technical support to the Convention Secretariat of the WHO FCTC.

WHO FCTC: Text, Commitments, and Timelines

Hugh Waters, PhD
RTI International
Dr. Hugh Waters received an MS from Georgetown University in 1987 and a PhD from Johns Hopkins University in 1999. He served as an associate professor in the International Health Department of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and was the co-director of the MPH Concentration in Comparative Health Systems. He is currently Deputy Director, Health Care Quality and Outcomes Program for RTI International. His research interests focus on health care financing, coverage and access. Dr. Waters’ current work includes expansion of health care access and funding in low-income countries such as Ecuador and Afghanistan, analysis of health care reform options, and preparation of case studies for insurance coverage extension in low- and middle-income countries, among other endeavors. In the field of tobacco control, Dr. Waters is the principal investigator of a study for the American Cancer Society to calculate the cost of secondhand smoke in Maryland.  Dr. Waters has contributed many papers to the field of health economics.

Tobacco Control and Economics: Principles and Overview

Anna White
Share the World's Resources
Anna White is currently a policy analyst at Share The World's Resources. She is a former coordinator at Essential Action’s Global Partnerships for Tobacco Control, a project that approaches global tobacco control by partnering groups in developed countries such as the United States with counterparts in developing countries in Africa, Asia, and Latin America. Conducting extensive research on the nature of the tobacco industry’s marketing strategies in Senegal as a Fulbright Scholar, Ms. White has provided comprehensive information on tobacco industry advertising strategies in the third world. Ms. White promotes international anti-smoking advocacy campaigns and monitors tobacco industry activities worldwide.

Tobacco Advertising Bans

Heather Wipfli, PhD, MA
Keck School of Medicine (USC)
Heather Wipfli, PhD, is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Preventative Medicine at the Keck School of Medicine at the University of Southern California (USC) and the Associate Director for the USC Institute for Global Health. She formerly served as a Research Associate in the Department of Epidemiology at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and as project director at the Institute for Global Tobacco Control. Generally, she is interested in governance and policy implementation intended to improve health globally. Dr. Wipfli has applied this broad interest to global tobacco control, with special emphasis on training and policy improvements in developing countries to curb the tobacco epidemic. As a technical officer, she has worked closely with the World Health Organization’s Tobacco Free Initiative on the design of the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control. She has published in the field of policy development for health improvement and the FCTC. Dr. Wipfli currently works closely with several research projects covering tobacco control policy.

The Framework Convention on Tobacco Control

Ayda Yurekli, PhD
Research for International Tobacco Control
Dr. Yurekli is a senior economist for the World Health Organization's Tobacco Free Initiative and a program leader with the Research for International Tobacco Control (RITC) program at the International Development Research Center in Canada. She has been influential in the dissemination of information concerning the global economic impact of tobacco control policy implementation and is considered an expert in tobacco economics. Dr. Yurekli has published extensively in the field of tobacco control economics.

Illicit Trade in Tobacco

Mitch Zeller, JD
Pinney Associates
Mitch Zeller is vice president for policy and strategic communications at Pinney Associates, a health consulting firm in Maryland. From 2000 to 2002, Mr. Zeller was executive vice president of the American Legacy Foundation, a public health foundation in Washington, D.C. created by the 1998 Master Settlement Agreement with the tobacco industry. His responsibilities included marketing, communications and strategic partnerships. In January 2002,  Mr. Zeller created the foundation's first Office of Policy and Government Relations. From 1993 to 2000, Mr. Zeller served as associate commissioner and director of the Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) Office of Tobacco Programs where he built the first nationwide program to reduce youth access to tobacco. He served as the FDA's representative on tobacco issues in all dealings with Congress, as well as with federal and state agencies, public health groups and foreign governments. Mr. Zeller also served as an official U.S. delegate to the World Health Organization (WHO) Working Group for the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control.

Tobacco Products