Product Classifications

Countries classify e-cigarettes as tobacco products (or imitation/derivative/substitute products), medicinal/pharmaceutical products, consumer products, electronic nicotine delivery systems (ENDS)/e-cigarettes or poisons.

Fifteen countries classify or regulate e-cigarettes as consumer products, in addition to classifying them as other types of products (Australia, Canada, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Republic of Korea, Scotland, Switzerland, Venezuela and Wales). Hungary regulates e-cigarettes primarily as consumer goods.

Fifty-nine countries refer to e-cigarettes as ENDS/e-cigarettes (Argentina, Austria, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, England, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Nepal, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay and Wales).

Twenty-three countries regulate e-cigarettes that make a cessation claim and/or contain a specific threshold of nicotine as medicines/drugs/medical devices (Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Iceland, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Philippines, Scotland, South Africa, Sweden, Thailand, Venezuela and Wales).

Forty-three countries classify or regulate e-cigarettes (in their entirety or only certain dimensions of sale, advertisement, use, etc.) as tobacco products, tobacco related products, tobacco imitation, tobacco derivatives, or tobacco surrogates (Argentina, Austria, Bahrain, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Ecuador, England, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Honduras, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Norway, Panama, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, Scotland, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Togo, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam and Wales).

Four countries regulate nicotine as poisons or hazardous substances (Australia, Belgium and Malaysia) and Brunei Darussalam classifies nicotine liquid as poisons if nicotine concentration is above 7.5 percent.